All the Big Doings in Class!

Friday, September 23rd, 2016  I’M SO GLAD WE HAD THIS TIME TOGETHER…
Much like my post about the start of school, Open House Night can be the cause of some angst and pre-show jitters.  I always want to bring my A-Game to teaching each and every day, and presenting in front of nearly forty Senior Watson’s Winners is no exception.
So I thank you for the huge turnout last night. It was clear to me that your kids and their educational/personal growth are priorities for you. But more than that, the warmth and friendliness in the room gladdened my heart tremendously. This speaks volumes to the type of people and parents you are, and your apples have dropped right down under your trees.  Yes, I talked about how kids in general need to feel more optimistic about how they see opportunities in school. Yes, I talked about how following the rules of the community shows strength instead of weakness. But by and large your kids know the importance of school, and they know how to treat each other with warmth and kindness. I thank you for that…
Some of you were asking about the music playing with the slide show I ran in the beginning of the night.  The song is Cat Stevens’ “Child for a Day,” one favorite from my youth.  I love the song because it reminds us that, in the blink of an eye, children grow up and we have such a short time to help and guide them along the way.  I hope to use my 10 months with your kids to do just that.
Also below is my “Official Open House Slide Show” overview of 5th grade curriculum, how things work, etc. (which you’ll note I didn’t use).  Feel free to download this and keep it as a reference if you’d like. Speaking of curriculum, as we start to really get into the swing of things, my posts will contain more specifics of classroom happenings and topics learned throughout the different subjects.  I hope you will find this helpful.  Again, I thank you for a memorable Open House Night, and for letting me share a “slice of life” with you and your kids.
Good night and have a pleasant tomorrow – Cathy

Leave a comment